26L ILS MSFS

09tir98
Posts: 9

26L ILS MSFS

Post by 09tir98 » Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:15 pm

There seems to be something wrong with the ILS for 26L in MSFS. If you follow the glideslope you end up way too low with 4 red PAPIs. Even at like 10 miles out you end up with 3 red and 1 white on the PAPIs. Might be related to airport elevation. The threshold for 26L should be 2048 ft according to the charts but with the FlyTampa scenery the threshold elevation is like 2150 ft.
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1513

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Tue Oct 04, 2022 6:24 pm

09tir98 wrote:
Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:15 pm
There seems to be something wrong with the ILS for 26L in MSFS. If you follow the glideslope you end up way too low with 4 red PAPIs. Even at like 10 miles out you end up with 3 red and 1 white on the PAPIs. Might be related to airport elevation. The threshold for 26L should be 2048 ft according to the charts but with the FlyTampa scenery the threshold elevation is like 2150 ft.
Quite puzzled still with this. It looks to be operating fine here-perhaps has something to do with scenery priority as mentioned before here: https://www.flytampa.org/forum/viewtopi ... 261#p72261. Maybe clearing out the content.xml (or simply removing Vegas, boot MSFS once, then re-install Vegas and start MSFS again) should fix it.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (335.9 KiB) Viewed 827 times
JRascagneres
Posts: 2

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by JRascagneres » Wed Oct 05, 2022 9:30 pm

I'm also having this issue and the above suggestion doesn't resolve it...
NBouc
Posts: 26

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by NBouc » Thu Oct 06, 2022 7:52 pm

I might have found the culprit regarding the ILS 26L and 26R problem some are having (myself included). I tried the suggestion of removing and re-installing FT KLAS to no avail, but then I tried with removing Navigraph AIRAC Cycle (the base pack only, I kept it installed for my add-on packages, such as PMDG B737).

I then flew the ILS on both 26L and 26R with the TMB930 and later with PMDG B737 and the ILS took me to the correct touchdown zone for both runways every time.

My conclusion is that the base Navigraph AIRAC (the one for the SIM) is causing the problem. Those having this problem, do you use Navigraph as well ?
deshain
Posts: 20

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by deshain » Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:16 am

yep, you are right! After removing navigraph airac's the papi lights reflect correct status and the autoland will touch down correctly in the zone. Nice catch! Also i can see that without navigraph airac's also the DME is not showing distance and correct angle in the PMDG737?
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1513

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:30 am

deshain wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:16 am
yep, you are right! After removing navigraph airac's the papi lights reflect correct status and the autoland will touch down correctly in the zone. Nice catch! Also i can see that without navigraph airac's also the DME is not showing distance and correct angle in the PMDG737?
Yes thanks guys-internal testing shows the same results-when navigraph is present, for some reason it kicks out our custom LOC/ILS/GS, which is necessary as the terrain is manipulated and we have code to match these alterations. The missing DME is coming from our own code edits (which is now fixed in the coming update)-proving the point above.
JRascagneres
Posts: 2

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by JRascagneres » Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:30 pm

Is this something that can be fixed? Kinda rely on navigraph, or do I need to bring navigraph in on this one?
airbadger
Posts: 46

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by airbadger » Sat Oct 08, 2022 12:35 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:30 am
deshain wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:16 am
yep, you are right! After removing navigraph airac's the papi lights reflect correct status and the autoland will touch down correctly in the zone. Nice catch! Also i can see that without navigraph airac's also the DME is not showing distance and correct angle in the PMDG737?
Yes thanks guys-internal testing shows the same results-when navigraph is present, for some reason it kicks out our custom LOC/ILS/GS, which is necessary as the terrain is manipulated and we have code to match these alterations. The missing DME is coming from our own code edits (which is now fixed in the coming update)-proving the point above.
Is there a reason you are only looking at this now? This issue was reported months ago on this forum. Is there somewhere else we're supposed to be reporting bugs? Because it seems like this forum is obviously not working for this purpose.
Chase1399
Posts: 2

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by Chase1399 » Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:41 pm

JRascagneres wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:30 pm
Is this something that can be fixed? Kinda rely on navigraph, or do I need to bring navigraph in on this one?
just fyi. I brought this up to navigraph and all works on their end using stock scenery. So they wont actually do anything for a single custom scenery. And in this case this affects not only msfs but XP11 too. I submitted a ticket via email to flytampa on Oct 7th still with no response. So i made a forum account in hopes this will be looked into, which it looks like they are aware of, but wanted them to know that all sim platforms need correction. xm12 too no doubt.

Dave
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1513

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Wed Oct 12, 2022 3:40 am

All sims allow editing of the ILS/LOC/GS, and this is well documented in their respective SDKs-it is often needed to do so, for visual and design reasons. The nav data of FT-KLAS work perfectly well with (stock) MSFS . In SU10, it is common that DLC airports with custom navaids are not working alongside Navigraph, so I see no reason that a solution won't be found. Perhaps as simply as moving Navigraph below custom airports. For example, stock MSFS nav data are placed below airport entries, allowing custom navaids to work properly on addon airport content.
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1513

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Thu Oct 13, 2022 4:47 am

Temporary workaround is to manually re-order the packages to look like below (using developer mode -> windows menu -> scenery package order (WIP)
This should give priority to custom navaids included in FT-KLAS.
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (18.69 KiB) Viewed 642 times
Following these changes, you should be able to verify the order by looking at the resulting content.xml (normally located in: C:\Users\*your username*\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache)

<Priorities>
<Package name="navigraph-navdata-base" priority="2"/>
<Package name="navigraph-navdata" priority="3"/>
<Package name="flytampa-lasvegas-airport" priority="5"/>
<Package name="fs-base-nav" priority="1"/>
<Package name="flytampa-lasvegas-city" priority="4"/>
</Priorities>
09tir98
Posts: 9

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by 09tir98 » Wed Oct 19, 2022 3:40 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Thu Oct 13, 2022 4:47 am
Temporary workaround is to manually re-order the packages to look like below (using developer mode -> windows menu -> scenery package order (WIP)
This should give priority to custom navaids included in FT-KLAS.

Capture.JPG

Following these changes, you should be able to verify the order by looking at the resulting content.xml (normally located in: C:\Users\*your username*\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache)

<Priorities>
<Package name="navigraph-navdata-base" priority="2"/>
<Package name="navigraph-navdata" priority="3"/>
<Package name="flytampa-lasvegas-airport" priority="5"/>
<Package name="fs-base-nav" priority="1"/>
<Package name="flytampa-lasvegas-city" priority="4"/>
</Priorities>
Changing the priority did fix the problem. I had to set the content.xml file to read only as well as navigraph was automatically given higher priority every time I started the sim otherwise.
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1513

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Wed Oct 19, 2022 4:54 pm


Changing the priority did fix the problem. I had to set the content.xml file to read only as well as navigraph was automatically given higher priority every time I started the sim otherwise.
Glad to hear-also thanks for the content.xml 'read-only' tip
pulsepowered
Posts: 3

Re: 26L ILS MSFS

Post by pulsepowered » Wed Oct 26, 2022 2:52 am

Priority arrangement of the sceneries worked.
Post Reply