Board index » FlyTampa » FlyTampa-KaiTak

Post
 george[flytampa] (Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:57 am)

Site Admin | Posts: 3188 | Location: Southampton, UK
carloscq wrote:Hi Martin

Thank you.

It worked after I clicked on the Add-to-P3D.cmd "file" though the scenery freezes very often, frame rates not the best, and the whole ambience is different. Buildings are too pale, in the previous version they were more colorful and realistic, inviting to fly in the area, these so white buildings make the city look like any other one, not too appealing and the ambiance of all the area is gone. Some ground textures get blurry and the buildings take a time to load the textures, problems I didn't have at all with the previous version. The lights look awful like giant stars in the poles. I think I had higher expectations. Feel more in love with the previous version. Anyway, I'll make another fly and see if I keep it or revert.

Thank you for caring and replying

Cheers

Carlos



Can you post a screenshot or two please? It should look at least as good as the old version if not better.
Post
 j0nx (Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:28 am)

Posts: 1
I just discovered today that my beloved Kai Tek from my FSX days was updated for p3d4. I took a flight in the Cessna A2A 172 and on approach it showed that I crashed about 1000 feet above the ground as I was flying over the buildings about 1/2 mile away to make my right turn to final. Is anyone else having that problem? Almost like the collision boxes on the buildings are wrong or something.
Post
 martin[flytampa] (Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:46 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 4880 | Location: Tampa/FL
i'm not aware of any crashboxes. try again a couple of times with other AC as well to confirm.
Post
 carloscq (Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:37 am)

Posts: 35
Can you post a screenshot or two please? It should look at least as good as the old version if not better.[/quote]

Hello
Sorry for having taken so long to get back

Here a picture, they look lile flat stars
HK lights.png
HK lights.png (2.22 MiB) Viewed 183 times
Post
 martin[flytampa] (Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:19 am)

Site Admin | Posts: 4880 | Location: Tampa/FL
carloscq wrote:Here a picture, they look lile flat stars


Just noticed thats a bug in the Installer. In the Prepar3Dv4/FlyTampa/KaiTak/effects/texture/ folder, delete the file flytampa_halo1.dds

Afterwards download the attached file and extract to Prepar3Dv4/FlyTampa/KaiTak/effects/ overwriting the existing files.

The lights will be smaller and smoother, if you still don't like them you can turn off the "floodlights" option in the FlyTampa-Configurator.
kaitak2_fix1.zip
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Post
 carloscq (Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:10 am)

Posts: 35
Hello Martin
Thank you very much for your reply and assistance
Best regards,
Carlos
Post
 N90831 (Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:51 am)

Posts: 8
j0nx wrote:I just discovered today that my beloved Kai Tek from my FSX days was updated for p3d4. I took a flight in the Cessna A2A 172 and on approach it showed that I crashed about 1000 feet above the ground as I was flying over the buildings about 1/2 mile away to make my right turn to final. Is anyone else having that problem? Almost like the collision boxes on the buildings are wrong or something.



It appears you have another add-on hidden somewhere that is conflicting. Usually an older version still not completely removed or another version of Flight Sim running that has different configuration values.

Check, double check, then check again or this will haunt you. I used to have the same problem with Melbourne in Australia. I ended up deleting any mention of YMML in my flight simulator. Had to dig deep into the /Scenery/ directory. Found little files here and there that were the culprit.

Good luck.