Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

MediumRareBaku
Posts: 6

Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by MediumRareBaku » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:14 pm

Hello,

Purchased this this evening and have two major show-stopping issues:

1. Ortho conversion tool has issues with the textures, and xOrganizer tells me that there's an issue with the mesh folder -- it doesn't specify what it is, but it says "Error with installation or empty scenery package" -- but the folder is not empty. Pictures:
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.57.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.57.png (4.34 MiB) Viewed 575 times
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.55.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.55.png (4.07 MiB) Viewed 575 times
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.52.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.52.png (3.36 MiB) Viewed 575 times
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.50.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.50.png (3.7 MiB) Viewed 575 times
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.48.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.48.png (3.72 MiB) Viewed 575 times
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.45.png
b738_4k - 2020-07-23 22.57.45.png (3.74 MiB) Viewed 575 times
2. Absolutely atrocious frame rates -- with the hotfix installed and the static billboards installed I am getting 20 FPS on the ramp at night which is, unfortunately, completely unusable for me. I have a fairly decent machine -- Ryzen 5 3600, NVIDIA 1070ti, and 32 GB of RAM -- and am able to run most other heavy sceneries with decent frames (including your Copenhagen). Is it possible to tone down the reflections on the strip? Or tone down the lighting? I even have these issues when looking at the ramp. My graphic settings:
A320 - 2020-07-23 23.01.20.png
A320 - 2020-07-23 23.01.20.png (1.06 MiB) Viewed 575 times
Let me know if there's anything I can do to fix either of these issues, please.

Thanks!
Phantom_A320
Posts: 1

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by Phantom_A320 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:17 pm

I'm having the exact same issue as above(minus the frames). I even tried re-downloading ortho tiles from two separate sources and running the python script as an admin. Same results.
Last edited by Phantom_A320 on Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MediumRareBaku
Posts: 6

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by MediumRareBaku » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:18 pm

Log file attached for the performance issue. Fairly confident my scenery .ini file is correct but can share that also if you're curious.
Attachments
Log.zip
(47.94 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1251

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:46 am

MediumRareBaku wrote:
Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:14 pm
2. Absolutely atrocious frame rates -- with the hotfix installed and the static billboards installed I am getting 20 FPS on the ramp at night which is, unfortunately, completely unusable for me. I have a fairly decent machine -- Ryzen 5 3600, NVIDIA 1070ti, and 32 GB of RAM -- and am able to run most other heavy sceneries with decent frames (including your Copenhagen). Is it possible to tone down the reflections on the strip? Or tone down the lighting? I even have these issues when looking at the ramp. My graphic settings:

A320 - 2020-07-23 23.01.20.png

Let me know if there's anything I can do to fix either of these issues, please.

Thanks!
I would recommend using Vulkan. I dont think openGL is enough these days. No doubt Vegas is a heavy one, but easily handled with Vulkan.
trisho0
Posts: 231

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by trisho0 » Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:04 pm

I am planning to purchase Las Vegas for XP11.41 but what is Vulkan?
MediumRareBaku
Posts: 6

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by MediumRareBaku » Fri Jul 24, 2020 5:21 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:52 pm
more info here: https://developer.x-plane.com/2020/04/x ... -are-here/
So, ok, I upgraded to Vulkan, and 25 fps on the ramp at night with these settings in the IXEG 737? Similar in the Zibo?
Attachments
B733 - 2020-07-24 18.15.24.png
B733 - 2020-07-24 18.15.24.png (522.74 KiB) Viewed 483 times
B733 - 2020-07-24 18.15.20.png
B733 - 2020-07-24 18.15.20.png (2.46 MiB) Viewed 483 times
trisho0
Posts: 231

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by trisho0 » Fri Jul 24, 2020 6:14 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:52 pm
more info here: https://developer.x-plane.com/2020/04/x ... -are-here/
Since that is X-Plane 11.50 BETA I am not interested until X-Plane 11.50 becomes final. Many thanks for your help.
MediumRareBaku
Posts: 6

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by MediumRareBaku » Sat Jul 25, 2020 3:54 pm

Completely fresh install of Vulkan today just to double check -- literally no other plugin or addon aircraft or scenery installed, even removed a lot of the extra default X-Plane scenery that wasn't near KLAS -- ~30 fps in the default 737 at night looking at the strip, with the static banners. A stable 30 fps would be usable in the aircraft I actually use in XP, but as soon as I add on any of the other aircraft I usually use it craters back down into the low 20s.

Really begging you guys to consider a version that tones down reflections, night lighting, interiors, something that will boost performance. Otherwise, what's your refund policy, and who can I email about it?
Attachments
b738 - 2020-07-25 16.52.06.png
b738 - 2020-07-25 16.52.06.png (2.54 MiB) Viewed 398 times
trisho0
Posts: 231

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by trisho0 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:21 pm

I think graphics settings is the culprit to fix the KLAS performance.
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1251

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:16 pm

MediumRareBaku wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 3:54 pm
Completely fresh install of Vulkan today just to double check -- literally no other plugin or addon aircraft or scenery installed, even removed a lot of the extra default X-Plane scenery that wasn't near KLAS -- ~30 fps in the default 737 at night looking at the strip, with the static banners. A stable 30 fps would be usable in the aircraft I actually use in XP, but as soon as I add on any of the other aircraft I usually use it craters back down into the low 20s.

Really begging you guys to consider a version that tones down reflections, night lighting, interiors, something that will boost performance. Otherwise, what's your refund policy, and who can I email about it?
hi there, please email support@flytampa.com with your username. We can explore a few other options or issue a refund if still un-resolved.

thanks
deshain
Posts: 16

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by deshain » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:18 pm

as i told in a similar post, you should not slew around with the aircraft of in free cam mode ... can you reproduce this when flying normally? I just deleted my NAIP ZL17 tile and created a new one with ortho4xp .. this time USA2 (still NED 1/3" mesh though) ... I cant reproduce your issues ... yes there is a slight color mismatch, but its because for testing i used USA2 now and the boarding other tiles are NAIP from Forkboy ...

here some pictures from all corners ...

https://imgur.com/a/IvpPiZ7

BTW.: yeah its an heavy scenery, but this was clear looking at all those effects ... I think there is a version posted here in the forum without the animations, maybe this is doing the trick for you? ... and dont use 11.4X, this scenery is made for Vulkan ;) ... Its just not possible to run it properly with the older versions ... its also a FlyTampa suggestion
trisho0
Posts: 231

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by trisho0 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:05 pm

deshain wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:18 pm
and dont use 11.4X, this scenery is made for Vulkan ;) ... Its just not possible to run it properly with the older versions ... its also a FlyTampa suggestion
So, Las Vegas will not run with XP 11.41? I learned it will run with VulKan. I guess I can keep version 11.41 and to find the VulKan installer or maybe NVidia graphics installer includes VulKan. Do you know about?
deshain
Posts: 16

Re: Show-stopping issues with KLAS for XP 11

Post by deshain » Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:38 am

I guess it will run ... I don’t have 11.4x installation anymore but my point was that it will probably not run well because of fps when in OpenGL mode ... I should have said that it’s better to have Vulkan for performance reasons :)
Post Reply