KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post Reply
Gridley
Posts: 11

KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by Gridley » Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:34 am

Hi all,
At altitudes above a few thousand feet, I get a lot of black textures at KBOS. Lower, the textures appear to slowly pop in. Is this an issue with a setting like dynamic texture streaming in P3D? I do not see this at other addon airports, though I haven't checked all that many. I know your Vegas seems fine, as do all the orbx and dd airports I own...just curious if this is something unique to my setup, something I can fix, or a new bug?

Thanks,
sg
Prepar3D Screenshot 2020.06.23 - 19.40.26.47.jpg
Prepar3D Screenshot 2020.06.23 - 19.40.26.47.jpg (351.94 KiB) Viewed 841 times
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3515

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:18 pm

Don't see that here but looking into a similar problem.

Have you tried re-installing using the universal installer?
Gridley
Posts: 11

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by Gridley » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:23 pm

george[flytampa] wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:18 pm
Don't see that here but looking into a similar problem.

Have you tried re-installing using the universal installer?
If I start at KBOS, and simply switch to external top-down, I can see the buildings start to go black as I zoom out, however the airport textures look fine. If I fly over KBOS, say from KMHT to KPVC via BOS, then I see the airport as pictured above.

This was a fresh install, but I had moved it to an addon folder and ran the cmd file. I will try a reinstall tonight.

Thanks George!
Gridley
Posts: 11

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by Gridley » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:04 pm

Reinstall did not help. I have a suspicion it might be the new effects in HF2 and the wave effects that are really weird around KBOS. You can see them in the videos below. Are those default or can they be inactivated?

Here's an overflight of KBOS with no ASP3D and no AI traffic. Textures load but extremely slowly. My FPS was locked at 30fps until I got nearer to KBOS:
https://youtu.be/lREGtUGNamY

Also,
Here's what it looks like when I load at KBOS and zoom out in top down view:
https://youtu.be/FftnLpxUXec
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3515

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:17 pm

Looks like you fixed the initial problem or it was just slow loading. The high-alt black terminals is normal for this version. P3D changed the layering again. I'm looking into fixing it.

The waves; I think they are part of one of the ORBX packages or something similar. I think you can disable them.
Gridley
Posts: 11

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by Gridley » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:42 pm

It's just super slow loading, and seems to unload fast once you fly by so if you switch external view and look back as in the screen shot, the textures are gone.
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3515

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:14 pm

There's a setting to help stop the textures unloading.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vFgfBSSXeE

Also, if you don't already, consider upgrading to a SSD
Gridley
Posts: 11

Re: KBOS in P3Dv5 HF2 texture issue

Post by Gridley » Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:31 pm

george[flytampa] wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:14 pm
There's a setting to help too the textures unloading.
Great - I'll try that tweak. Already on an SSD.
Post Reply