V5 Dynamic Light Issue

micstatic
Posts: 21

V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Mon May 18, 2020 7:28 am

I've noticed that some sceneries are not properly working with Dynamic Lighting. Specifically with PBR aircraft and only in V5. According to the LM forum, this is because developers need to change the way they make the effects for DL since changes were made from V4 to V5. See below.

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... ht#p217871

examples:
https://imgur.com/a/n3MEpNX

Are you able to fix the effects? Interesting enough. Toronto works fine, but Boston and Montreal don't.
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Mon May 18, 2020 1:34 pm

i also just tried running the PBR dynamic lighting patch listed in the forum here in the V5 compatibility section and tried montreal. Still not working. Open to ideas.
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Tue May 19, 2020 8:31 am

thoughts?
breakinghbts
Posts: 10

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by breakinghbts » Tue May 19, 2020 9:24 pm

micstatic wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 1:34 pm
i also just tried running the PBR dynamic lighting patch listed in the forum here in the V5 compatibility section and tried montreal. Still not working. Open to ideas.
Can you post a link to the patch? I can't find it anywhere, and I'd like to see if that helps on my system at least. Thanks!

-Tony@PVD
vkupchyshyn
Posts: 6

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by vkupchyshyn » Wed May 20, 2020 4:57 am

breakinghbts wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 9:24 pm
micstatic wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 1:34 pm
i also just tried running the PBR dynamic lighting patch listed in the forum here in the V5 compatibility section and tried montreal. Still not working. Open to ideas.
Can you post a link to the patch? I can't find it anywhere, and I'd like to see if that helps on my system at least. Thanks!

-Tony@PVD
Hi Tony,

I believe micstatic is referring to the latest version of the FT Libraries posted in the V5 compatibility section (viewtopic.php?f=1&t=13842). It has a comment that it contains Updated Dynamic Light FX for PBR.

I also have exactly the same issues in a massive amount of addon sceneries (not only FT but other big names) where the dynamic lighting in v5 does not illuminate PBR simobjects. A lot of developers acknowledged the issue and have fixed/promised to fix on their end. The latest FT libraries did not fix it for me as well.

I have iniBuilds DL patches installed for CYUL/CYYZ and all of the FT sceneries which do not have native DL which all work perfectly (actually iniBuilds had the same issue and acknowledged it very quickly and fixed their effects libraries within 24h of my request for support), but original KBOS, LGKR etc still have pitch black PBR simobjects (user aircraft and AI) with DL.

Let's hope it will be fixed soon as it really takes away from the beauty of FT sceneries at night.

Kind regards,
Vladimir
breakinghbts
Posts: 10

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by breakinghbts » Wed May 20, 2020 7:31 am

Thanks for that info. I tried the new libraries. It's not fixed on my system either. Hopefully it won't take to long to get it all worked out. I will be monitoring this thread for updates.

-Tony@PVD
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Wed May 20, 2020 1:03 pm

wondering if FlyTampa has any more info on this?
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3424

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri May 22, 2020 12:14 pm

I'll fix it soon guys
vkupchyshyn
Posts: 6

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by vkupchyshyn » Fri May 22, 2020 12:18 pm

george[flytampa] wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 12:14 pm
I'll fix it soon guys
Thanks a lot for acknowledging the issue, George!

Kind regards,
Vladimir
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Fri May 22, 2020 6:50 pm

thanks man
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3424

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Sun May 24, 2020 7:54 pm

It should be fixed now if you just download it again via the universal installer.
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Sun May 24, 2020 10:01 pm

Thanks George. Confirming Boston worked. Montreal however didn't work. Is that one still not done yet?
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3424

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by george[flytampa] » Sun May 24, 2020 10:39 pm

Montreal will be done soon.
micstatic
Posts: 21

Re: V5 Dynamic Light Issue

Post by micstatic » Wed May 27, 2020 10:44 am

ok thanks. Will monitor this thread
Post Reply