Crashing on startup

jonFezza
Posts: 12

Crashing on startup

Post by jonFezza » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:46 pm

Hello all. For some reason I am simply unable to get Boston working. I fire up the sim and it freezes on loading. I did get a Kernellbase crash too.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5194

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:51 pm

Are you running the latest P3D v4.2 update?
When exactly does it crash? After you select KBOS, Aircraft etc and attempt to load?
jonFezza
Posts: 12

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by jonFezza » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:09 pm

I am on 4.2 and yes when attempting to load in to the airport.
VetteHead
Posts: 31

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by VetteHead » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:11 pm

I was just going to buy this, sorry to hijack but does this actually REQUIRE 4.2? I have 4.1 and do not want to upgrade to 4.2. Please advise.
RealGoldfinger
Posts: 2

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by RealGoldfinger » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:13 pm

Hello - I too experience a crash when loading the KBOS scenery. I start sim and see default flight load. Go to scenery navigator and select KBOS. The KBOS scenery loads then I see an exterior view of my aircraft with a crash notification. Sometimes crashes to desktop, sometimes crashes back to default flight. I am still using version P3dv4.1
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by sidfadc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:19 pm

Same here...

I see the F22 momentarily upon the scenery loading and then the sim reloads the default flight hmmm.

I'm using 4.2, strangely I wasn't asked to activate the scenery when I launched the sim for the first time?
jonFezza
Posts: 12

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by jonFezza » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:27 pm

Delving into this a bit more. Default KBOS crashes too...
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by sidfadc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:39 pm

I just deleted FT Boston and default scenery loads fine, I'm going to try a reinstall. First time I have issues installing scenery in v4 so this is quite unexpected.
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by sidfadc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:49 pm

ok so during the reinstall, after a clean boot right at the end the installed told me "p3d is already running, please close the sim". This is untrue.

Despite this the folder structure and associated addon.xml has been created at D:\P3D\FlyTampa\Boston

However I don't see any entry in my add-ons.cfg here C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4

Could this be the problem? This would explain why the sim doesn't ask me to activate the scenery on loading?
jonFezza
Posts: 12

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by jonFezza » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:53 pm

sidfadc wrote:ok so during the reinstall, after a clean boot right at the end the installed told me "p3d is already running, please close the sim". This is untrue.

Despite this the folder structure and associated addon.xml has been created at D:\P3D\FlyTampa\Boston

However I don't see any entry in my add-ons.cfg here C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4

Could this be the problem? This would explain why the sim doesn't ask me to activate the scenery on loading?
The scenery edit is in scenery_add-ons not add-ons
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by sidfadc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:59 pm

where is that?
jonFezza
Posts: 12

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by jonFezza » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:05 pm

same place C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by sidfadc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:09 pm

that isn't the same place as C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4 which I referred too

Either way in \Program Data I don't see any Boston entries in add-on.cfg or scenery.cfg?

I need some help! lol
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5194

Re: Crashing on startup

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:19 pm

Our Installer attempts to add its entry to:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\add-ons.cfg

When adding it manually, it doesn't matter if one uses that add-ons.cfg or the other one in C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\add-ons.cfg

If Boston-Rebooted isn't listed in either, have a look at the FlyTampa/Boston/Doc/PDF manual on how to add it.

As far as the crashing goes, we are looking into it.
Post Reply