Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

doc-dutch
Posts: 1

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by doc-dutch » Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:13 pm

Woozie wrote:This should work with addons that use Pete Dowson's MakeRWY tool, but EFB has its own scanning procedure. Unfortunately it throws an error when it cant find the AFCAD bgl that was active during the scenery scan.

Its not a showstopper as winds often seem to come from the south at EHAM (at least that was the case when i flew from EHAM).

However, when using the South AFCAD my AI planes keep departing from RWY06, which doesnt make any sense at all as this is a landing only RWY as far as i know and its also the totally wrong direction if winds are coming from the south.

Anyone seen this as well? This is with the AFCADs from the GSX thread.
Same here, Departing from 36R and 06 when ADE south is active...
Strange behavior...

some updates maybe?
tnx
atco
Posts: 54

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by atco » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:27 pm

If you have 737's parking on the Fokker and Embraer stands then your AI 737's have the wrong wingspan values as the gates are radiused to 15.1m which would totally exclude the 737. The 737 with the correct wingspan value will not park in a stand smaller than 18m

The only thing I can suggest with departing traffic off 06 is that you don't have the right winds. The wind values are very important for using the right ADE. For the South ADE winds should be between 120 and 229, if you try to use the South ADE with for example a wind of 090 or any further North than that, then you should use either the East or North ADE.
That should honestly be the only time you would see that behaviour, in the correct wind configuration I promise you that you won't see departures off 06.
Because of the way the runways had to be indexed to each other to create the correct crosswind configuration using the ADE outside of the specified wind values is going to cause issues. If you only want to use the North or South ADE's, the South should only be used with winds between 091 and 270 and the North one between 271 and 090. If you want to use all 4 then the wind directions for use are listed here.
Woozie
Posts: 8

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by Woozie » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:50 pm

in my case wind was coming from 160, 5-8 knots
Sabre
Posts: 18

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by Sabre » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:45 pm

Woozie wrote:in my case wind was coming from 160, 5-8 knots
Same here! PATC/X gives me TO RWY06 even though TO from RWY06 is blocked in PATC/X's settings!

Sabre.
phmcr
Posts: 27

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by phmcr » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:19 am

HI Emilio,

I made four different ADE's for my default EHAM and my trick to use both 36C and 36L for take off was to shorten C to 2100 mtr. Then only small ai will go there, medium and large will taxi to 36L.

Menno
simsuper80
Posts: 40

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by simsuper80 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:17 pm

I have heard about that trick too. but has anybody used ai controller? it has the ability to split the amount of departing aircraft evenly across any pair or more of departure runways. the same applies to landings too. (so you could have triple landings at KATL)
phmcr
Posts: 27

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by phmcr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:36 am

Additionally, the four AFCADs I use all have the same name so EFB doesn't need to scan again since it won't find a new name. It just thinks nothing changed..... I move the right AFCAD in and accept to replace one file with the other.

Menno
big_al
Posts: 90

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by big_al » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:17 am

you all are getting to know the default atc engine. not possible to close only one end of a runway, the other end must be closed as well. If you want the AI to not land on 24 the reciprocal end must also be closed.
phmcr
Posts: 27

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by phmcr » Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:12 am

Wished it was all that simple.
I have 36L open for take offs in one of my AFCADS, all other options are closed. Still AI from the west will land 36L although 36C is open and so is 36R. It just simply uses the closest runway. EHAM is a very difficult airport with regards to AI traffic flow and I am sorry developers obviously cannot open up the original FSX code to adjust its logic.....
big_al
Posts: 90

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by big_al » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:29 am

phmcr wrote:Wished it was all that simple.
I have 36L open for take offs in one of my AFCADS, all other options are closed. Still AI from the west will land 36L although 36C is open and so is 36R. It just simply uses the closest runway. EHAM is a very difficult airport with regards to AI traffic flow and I am sorry developers obviously cannot open up the original FSX code to adjust its logic.....
check the afcad again. if 36L is open you must open the opposite end for takeoffs too. If 36R is only for landing, open that end and the opposite end for landing. Every other runway must be closed. Also you should have dummy runways for crossing runway operation.
Woozie
Posts: 8

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by Woozie » Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:30 pm

Any news on the online/all RWY AFCAD? Its taking an awful long time considering it has been promised to be available "very soon" (which was more than 3 months ago...)
antonioitalia
Posts: 1

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by antonioitalia » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:52 pm

Thanks for those informations! :wink:
stevefocus
Posts: 61

Re: Amsteram ADE/Afcad Notes

Post by stevefocus » Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:30 pm

AI aircraft landing on 06 never seem to use S2 exit, they either taxi to S3 or turnaround and exit S1, any chance of a fix?
Post Reply