FPS low

Post Reply
rbifly
Posts: 2

Re: FPS low

Post by rbifly » Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:46 pm

I have had pretty good luck following this guide in both FSX and Prepar3D.

http://forum.avsim.net/topic/462838-a-g ... -pmdg-777/

Definitely pushing the VAS limits at CYYZ, but I'm able to get in and out without OOM ( pretty close to the limit though ). FPS is low, but flight is still smooth. Even using WOAI traffic at 55% in P3D. Phenomenal scenery!

I7 2600K 4.5GHz GTX 580
ASN
REX
PMDG 777, 737NG
Flo
Posts: 5

Re: FPS low

Post by Flo » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:47 am

martin[flytampa] wrote:
Tinosky wrote:Any update on this issue? Any information regarding a future patch? There is something with the terminal buildings which is causing my FPS drop. As I mentioned, I have all options deactivated, settings set on sparse etc. Would like to get an answer regarding this one.
If you have the time to test please temperately remove the files:

cyyz_terminal1.bgl
cyyz_terminal1_glass_opaque.bgl (or cyyz_terminal1_glass.bgl)
cyyz_terminal1_details.bgl
cyyz_terminal3.bgl
cyyz_terminal3_glass_opaque.bgl (or cyyz_terminal3_glass.bgl)
cyyz_terminal3_details.bgl

Now check if and how much FPS gain you get from this. Note there will be no terminal buildings, only jetways and possibly vehicles and small objects. I can see if it is worth the effort of making a less detailed version of the terminal buildings, but so far I only had one user report back and he said there was no gain from removing the terminals, which is the same result I get myself.

Hej Martin,

i have done and no changes, fps still very low and exactly the same as befor deleted the .bgl´s.

Oh man where is the Bug ?
asadkamal
Posts: 24

Re: FPS low

Post by asadkamal » Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:36 pm

I am guessing no luck in terms of a fix ?

Regards,
Asad Kamal
mirk
Posts: 1

Post by mirk » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:44 pm

i am getting low FPS too im getting good FPS at the runway but when I look at the terminal building i get like 9FPS!!
My specs are: intel i5-4700 nvidia gtx 860M, 16GB ram and windows 8, I also have no addons like pmdg or traffic and i also turned evreything off from the flytampa configuration settings . PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!
Benncpp15
Posts: 164

Re:

Post by Benncpp15 » Thu Apr 23, 2015 10:36 am

mirk wrote:i am getting low FPS too im getting good FPS at the runway but when I look at the terminal building i get like 9FPS!!
My specs are: intel i5-4700 nvidia gtx 860M, 16GB ram and windows 8, I also have no addons like pmdg or traffic and i also turned evreything off from the flytampa configuration settings . PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!
I'm surprised it runs that well!!

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.p ... e+GTX+860M
aceridgey
Posts: 76

Re: FPS low

Post by aceridgey » Mon May 18, 2015 1:30 pm

Still no update of fixes?

I tried again with both p3d and fsx, completely unflyable.
barbecan
Posts: 48

Re: FPS low

Post by barbecan » Fri May 22, 2015 11:25 am

It's a shame this airport is so resource hungry because it's so beautiful. In the first month of release I too thought I would never be able to fly at this airport, OOM crashes all the time. With some tweaks what a difference. I am now able to use this airport with good FPS and memory to spare using the NGX. Everything unchecked in the config file though.
Er!k
Posts: 359

Re: FPS low

Post by Er!k » Thu May 28, 2015 3:01 pm

Well, we can devote 200 pages, but I do not think anything will happen...
asadkamal
Posts: 24

Re: FPS low

Post by asadkamal » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:51 pm

barbecan wrote:It's a shame this airport is so resource hungry because it's so beautiful. In the first month of release I too thought I would never be able to fly at this airport, OOM crashes all the time. With some tweaks what a difference. I am now able to use this airport with good FPS and memory to spare using the NGX. Everything unchecked in the config file though.
Any chance you could share the tweaks ?? I have played with the LOD and Fiber Fraction and it seems to have helped and now I can actually alteast fly in and out CYYZ.

Regards,

Asad
atco
Posts: 55

Re: FPS low

Post by atco » Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:59 pm

Martin, is it possible its related to the Toronto.bgl in the FSX default scenery?

With Taxi2Gate's Seattle they created a new Seattle.bgl which dropped the file size from around 50kb to a 1kb file.
I don't personally see any less buildings and infact it appears they created their own versions of most of the custom buildings.

I get very high and smooth performance there, in the region of 40+FPS, whereas we all know the default Seattle area was a massive performance killer.
Perhaps there is something in the default Toronto.bgl that has the same problem?

If people are having issues looking at Terminal 1, its likely its because the downtown area is in view as well.

Not sure if there's anything to it, but thought I would bring it up.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5196

Re: FPS low

Post by martin[flytampa] » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:48 am

We did remove and exclude those downtown buildings completely, it made no difference in performance for us.
skwaL
Posts: 8

Re: FPS low

Post by skwaL » Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:22 am

Hey Martin,

So I am joining the war on the FPS in this airport, you could see my review on simmarket and really I am truly lost on fixed.

I have downloaded LOW-Resolution texture, I have turned EVERYTHING off in the configurator, I have moved the slider to sparse. And yesterday landing I was barely hanging on to 10FPS with Aerosoft Airbus

My Specs:
i7 3820 @ 4.75Ghz
16GB Kingston HyperX RAM
GTX 770SC (Overclocked as well)
2 SSD Drives.

During day I get abotu 12-14FPS, Nightime 8-11. This is not right. In graphics I run TML @ 1024, low res clouds, LOD Radius of 3.5, UsePools=0, FFFT at 0.15. All those settings should give me good FPS, but they dont.
skwaL
Posts: 8

Re: FPS low

Post by skwaL » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:35 am

martin[flytampa] wrote:Ran some tests with the LITETEX pack installed and the Config Tool option trimmed down:
-Opaque Glass, No Interior
-Vehicle Options all Off
-Effects only Apron Lamp Halo and Snow Drift On
-Other Options all Off

PS: Previous shots I posted were with default Install Options and default Textures.

Daytime: 63
Daytime with AI 100%: 27 (so AI cost me 36 fps in that view)
Night without AI: 48 (with FTX Global Street Orbs)... didn't dare to load with 100% AI at night, prob <20.
How in the world do you manage this, I am lost for words. Everything off, day time, no AI. Overlooking airport terminals I get 10-15 FPS. Night time about the same.

i7 3820 @ 5Ghz
16GB Ram
GTX 770
asadkamal
Posts: 24

Re: FPS low

Post by asadkamal » Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:26 pm

No luck here, almost unflyable specially looking towards the terminal.

Regards,
Asad
Post Reply