Installer doesn't work with my configuration

Post Reply
LOWW
Posts: 12

Installer doesn't work with my configuration

Post by LOWW » Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:43 pm

hi!

i have purchased the wonderfull St. Marteen Airport (Complete) and had downloaded the package.

the installer starts correctly and after entering Name/RegKey the installer dedects my FS9 root-folder correctly (in my case it is drive "G:\") , but the "Next-Button" stays inactive and i cannot proceed with the installation.

is there any 'work-around' to get this button active?

btw:
the installer of the last product - flyVienna - worked fine with my FS-settings!
paavo
Posts: 1612

Post by paavo » Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:53 pm

A shot in the dark here, but do you have FSX installed ?
Sometimes FSX will corrupt the registry entry for FS9.
LOWW
Posts: 12

Post by LOWW » Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:11 pm

paavo wrote:A shot in the dark here, but do you have FSX installed ?
Sometimes FSX will corrupt the registry entry for FS9.
yes, FSX was installed before months.

any other addon for FS9 i installed after FSX (last was AES v1.50 & FSGlobal2008 yesterday) works fine. also the registration-entry reads correct 'G:\'.

i think that the installer expects a path like 'G:\Microsoft Flightsimulator 2004' and doesn't recognize that the root fs-folder is the partition root-folder. as said: fly-vienna's installation works fine.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5171

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:23 pm

The installer for TNCM is a little different then the previous ones in that it needs to know the actual FS9 root folder.

The fact you have it in G: doesn't matter, all that matter for the next button to become active is that the folder you are pointing to contains FS9.exe and scenery.cfg

Let me know if you got it to work. PS: FS is within a folder in G: right?
LOWW
Posts: 12

Post by LOWW » Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:54 pm

martin[flytampa] wrote:The installer for TNCM is a little different then the previous ones in that it needs to know the actual FS9 root folder.

The fact you have it in G: doesn't matter, all that matter for the next button to become active is that the folder you are pointing to contains FS9.exe and scenery.cfg

Let me know if you got it to work. PS: FS is within a folder in G: right?
hi martin!

many thanks for your short discription what the installer expects to find!

but you missunderstood ... the root of the partition is the same as the root of FS, both G:\ !

in this case the FS9.exe and scenery.cfg are placed on G:\ that means:

G:\FS9.exe
G:\scenery.cfg

the installer reads also in the input-field "G:" to install, but the button stays inactive.

kind regards
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5171

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:00 pm

So I assume in G: you have folders like
G:\aircraft
G:\effects

and so on? Yet it won't let you select G: as destination?

Gotta to a temp installation then. Create a temporary folder somewhere. Then copy fs9.exe and scenery.cfg into that folder. Install there. Afterwards look at what got copied into this temp folder and start transferring that over to your G: structure.
LOWW
Posts: 12

Post by LOWW » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:21 pm

martin[flytampa] wrote:So I assume in G: you have folders like
G:\aircraft
G:\effects

and so on? Yet it won't let you select G: as destination?
hello Martin!

exactly with the folders! but the installer reads in the input field the right path to install and if i brose and select G:\ the button chooses to stay inactive.
martin[flytampa] wrote:Gotta to a temp installation then. Create a temporary folder somewhere. Then copy fs9.exe and scenery.cfg into that folder. Install there. Afterwards look at what got copied into this temp folder and start transferring that over to your G: structure.
thanks for the suggestion, GREAT IDEA! i'll do so after my flight from KSAN to KDFW that is launched at the moment. i'll keep you informed, thanks a lot!
LOWW
Posts: 12

Post by LOWW » Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:12 pm

hello Martin!

i've retried the installer once again - nope!

than i tried your work-around with the temporary directory, copied FS9.exe and scernery.cfg in it, retried the installer and ... GREAT! IT WORKS!

after moving the folders & scenery.cfg into the particular FS-folders, i have seen the your airport for the first time in FS9!

looks great indeed!

thanks a lot for all and the quick and oustanding support!
Post Reply