New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post Reply
dbw
Posts: 9

New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by dbw » Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:00 pm

Problems with both.

KBOS: Simply not there. Plus elevation issues.

CYUL: New installer shuts down partway through installation...with the message to contact fly tampa support.

Constructive suggestions would be most welcome. As I am not a computer guru they will have to be relatively simple. Interesting that both install attempts are creating issues.

Dave
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3309

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:38 pm

For KBOS you probably have an elevation file from the old version in Prepar3d\Scenery\World\scenery
Look for a file with kbos or boston in the name and rename the extension from .bgl to .off

Or an old entry in the scenery database. It should only be listed in Addons.

Toronto. Try running as admin by right clicking the installer.
Check your virus scanner isn't deleting or blocking.
pauly123
Posts: 36

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by pauly123 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:55 pm

I am a bit confused. If I already have KBOS for P3dV4 (installed a few months ago) It works great. Do I need to re-install KBOS in the new installer?

I just added Montreal yesterday and it used that new installer, it worked perfectly.
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3309

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:51 pm

pauly123 wrote:I am a bit confused. If I already have KBOS for P3dV4 (installed a few months ago) It works great. Do I need to re-install KBOS in the new installer?

I just added Montreal yesterday and it used that new installer, it worked perfectly.
Do you have SODE jetways? If so, that was added in 4.1.
4.2 added runway lights that activate in the fog.

V4.2 (18 Feb 2019)
Implemented FlyTampa Universal Installer
Updated Airport Lighting, automatically activates in Fog

V4.1 (28 Apr 2018)
Added SODE jetways
Bug fixes

V4.0 (23 Feb 2018)
Boston Logan International (KBOS) airport V4 Rebooted
High Resolution 2k Terminal Textures
3D Tunnels, Bridges & Airport Island Coastlines
Advanced Specular & Normal Mapping shaders used on Airport surfaces
Dynamic Lighting & optional
FX Lighting for slower systems
Animated & Static Vehicles
Animated Ramp People
Stunning Wet Weather & Snow Effects
Volumetric Grass
Animated Jetways at all gates
Optimized thoroughly with use of LODs
Configuration tool to help customize your experience
Compiled with latest Prepar3Dv4.2 SDK
dbw
Posts: 9

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by dbw » Fri Mar 01, 2019 8:10 pm

george[flytampa] wrote:For KBOS you probably have an elevation file from the old version in Prepar3d\Scenery\World\scenery
Look for a file with kbos or boston in the name and rename the extension from .bgl to .off

Or an old entry in the scenery database. It should only be listed in Addons.

Toronto. Try running as admin by right clicking the installer.
Check your virus scanner isn't deleting or blocking.
Hi George,
Thanks for the reply.

It's not Toronto but it is Montreal. With the new installer it is simply gone.

KBOS...There is now no Boston present except an vague outline on the ground plus it is interspersed with elevation issues.

Before this both Boston and Montreal were just fine.
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3309

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:05 pm

Usually, when it disappears, it means there are two entries listed in either the addons or the old scenery database. We only want one listed in Addons.
dbw
Posts: 9

Re: New Installers both KBOS and CYUL

Post by dbw » Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:33 pm

I went and did another install on both and this time both installed properly. I have no idea why they worked but I am just fine with it. The new versions are outstanding.
Dave
Post Reply